What is Your Energy?

by

The Conversation, pg. xix

“Love is an energy.  You can feed it to people, and they, in turn, feed it to others, and eventually it comes back to nurture you.”

In 2001 (a week before September 11th), I moved to New York City to work in a fellowship with city government.  During my time there, I made the acquaintance of a fierce, free-spirited, generous woman.  She and I worked together and she became one of my many adopted mothers during my time in the city.  As a Southerner in NYC, I always went around smiling and greeting people.  Of course, this meant that I had a few “strays” who followed me home or to the office or around some department store because I was “too nice,” lol.  However, it also means that (similar to my life in other cities), I’ve never had a problem meeting some pretty amazing men or getting dates.  Sure, I’ve had a “drought” like anyone else, but not the type of drought that makes wo(men) complain about the lack of eligible candidates, etc.  Anyhow, I recall that there were a couple of guys who wanted to take me out around our job (several hundreds people worked there so it wasn’t that weird).  I would receive anonymous flowers and men would stop by our office to say hello, often.  Although I’ve just said that I’m friendly and have a nice smile, I couldn’t for the life of me understand all the newfound attention.  There were plenty of single, attractive, successful women who worked there!  I’ve always thought that I’m a STRONG 7.  What does that mean?  Well, I’m not going to be the prettiest woman or the sexiest or the funniest or the smartest or the best dressed…but, I think I can hold my own in all categories (versus people who are a 10 in one area and a 2 in another).  Even with me knowing this, it was utterly shocking to be in an environment where men affirmed it for me regularly and I was truly baffled.

All of a sudden, my NYC mom said, “it’s your energy.”  “Huh?”  She repeated, “it’s your energy.  You draw people into you and make them want to be in your presence.  You share yourself with them.  You love them and accept them.”  Granted, I don’t think I could ever marry any of those men from NYC, but I learned at an early age walking down the streets in Atlanta that it was a LOT easier to be kind and nice to someone you aren’t interested in, respecting them as a person and saving their pride for taking the courage to approach you than it was to ignore them, embarrass them and have them say, “F you B; I didn’t want to talk to your so&so A anyway.”  As I’ve matured from that 15-year old on the streets of Atlanta to my 32-year old self, I realize more than ever that there will be times that I will draw many more people in with my energy.  I will also share my energy and love with people who may not appreciate it, understand it or reciprocate it.  There are times that this reaction (or inability to react as I’d like) to my energy and love are immensely upsetting and disappointing.  However, just as I begin to give up on sharing my love “with someone who doesn’t deserve it,” I receive love from the strangest person or place; washing over me like an unexpected tidal wave and reminding me that the thing to do is to give out what you want to receive.  I don’t know about you, but I want and need a loving energy to nurture and sustain me.  What is Your Energy?  Are you Giving What you Want to Receive? Who do you Attract to You?  Please tell us about it/him/her.

One Response to “What is Your Energy?”

  1. gjenea Says:

    I love this post. This is very relevant to me as I go through my journey of life. I’ve struggled with understanding and coping with the fact that the good energy I put out won’t necessarily come back to me in the way or from the person I wanted to. My mother has had to tell many times over that I can’t expect people to treat me like I treat them, and that has always confused me. I’ve always been the nice/sweet girl who would always do anything and everything for others, if it meant that they were happy and was hurt or confused when (in my time of need) it wasn’t always reciprocated in the same way or with the same intensity.
    Over the years I’ve found myself become more and more reserved and “stank” with my energy because I’m in some ways afraid that’s what I’ll get back so I might as well not worry about being nice (or giving out positive/good/loving energy) because I’ll be disappointed in the end.

    I like when you say “I will also share my energy and love with people who may not appreciate it, understand it or reciprocate it. There are times that this reaction (or inability to react as I’d like) to my energy and love are immensely upsetting and disappointing. However, just as I begin to give up on sharing my love “with someone who doesn’t deserve it,” I receive love from the strangest person or place; washing over me like an unexpected tidal wave and reminding me that the thing to do is to give out what you want to receive.”
    It reminds me of the Golden Rule “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you” I need to remember that no matter what kind of energy I receive from other’s I need to go back to how I was when I was younger and give my positive/loving energy freely and in some shape form or fashion it will eventually be returned.

Leave a Reply

